October 20, 2023

Routt County Climate Action Collaborative Accepting Community Board Applications

The Routt County Climate Action Collaborative is accepting community applications for its Board of Directors through Thursday, November 16, 2023.

The Routt County Climate Action Collaborative was formed in 2021 to create an intergovernmental, organizational structure to help facilitate regional decision making and support the implementation of the Routt County Climate Action Plan (CAP). This past year, the Board oversaw five Working Groups (Energy, Transportation, Waste, Land Use and Economy) tasked with identifying and prioritizing key actions to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in Routt County and to enhance overall quality of life and long-term resiliency.

40 Board-approved recommendations were finalized this summer and the Collaborative is now in the implementation phase of the CAP process.

“This is a course setting decade for climate work, and the actions we take now at a local level matter,” commented CAP Board Chair Gail Garey. “Board membership is a unique opportunity to offer substantive expertise and to play a critical role in supporting the actualization of these recommendations.”

The Collaborative Board consists of 9 members, including 4 community members and a representative from each of the local government partners – Routt County, City of Steamboat Springs, and the Towns of Hayden, Oak Creek and Yampa.

Community representatives shall reflect diverse geographic and sector representation from across the county, and climate plan interest and experience. 

There is currently one 3-year community seat available. The application can be found here and also on the City and County websites. The deadline for submitting community applications is Thursday, November 16, 2023. Appointment will start January 1, 2024.